List of Speakers in the General Debate

By Jerry Cox,2014-10-03 21:17
102 views 0
List of Speakers in the General Debate Wednesday, 16 November 2005 Opening, 10:00h-11:00h GMT+1 1. Tunisia His Excellency Mr. Zine El Abidine Ben Ali President 2. United Nations His Excellency Mr. K. Annan Secretary General 3. Switzerland His Excellency Mr. Samuel Schmid President 4. International Tele..

List of Speakers in the General Debate

    Wednesday, 16 November 2005

Opening, 10:00h-11:00h GMT+1

1. Tunisia

    His Excellency Mr. Zine El Abidine Ben Ali President

2. United Nations

    His Excellency Mr. K. Annan

    Secretary General

3. Switzerland

    His Excellency Mr. Samuel Schmid


    4. International Telecommunication Union (ITU) His Excellency Mr. Yoshio Utsumi

    Secretary General

    5. International Federation for Human Rights Ms. Shirin EBADI

    President of the Defenders of Human Rights Center On behalf of the Civil Society

6. Intel Corporation

    Mr. Craig Barrett

    Chairman of the Board

    On behalf of the Business Community

    7. Preparatory Committee of the Tunis Phase of WSIS His Excellency Mr. Janis Karklins



First Plenary Meeting, General Debate, 11:00h-13:00h GMT+1

1. Croatia

    His Excellency Mr. Stjepan Mesic


2. Angola

    His Excellency Mr. Fernando Dias Dos Santos Prime Minister

3. Equatorial Guinea

    His Excellency Mr. Obiang Nguema Mbasogo President

4. Mozambique

    Her Excellency Mrs. Luisa Dias Diogo Prime Minister

5. South Africa

    His Excellency Mr. Thabo Mbeki


6. Comoros

    His Excellency Mr. Assoumani Azali President

7. Zimbabwe

    His Excellency Mr. Robert Mugabe


8. Mauritania

    His Excellency Colonel Ely Ould Mohamed Vall

    President of Military Council for Justice and Democracy

9. Algeria

    His Excellency Mr. Abdelaziz Bouteflika President

10. Qatar

    His Honour Sheikh Abdulla Bin Khalifa Al-Thani Prime Minister

11. Sudan

    His Excellency Mr. Omer Hassan Ahmed Elbashit President

12. Tajikistan

    His Excellency Mr. Emomali Rahmonov


13. Ghana

    His Excellency Mr. Alhaji Aliu Mahama Vice-President

14. Namibia

    The Right Honourable Libertina Amathila Deputy Prime Minister

15. Cuba

    His Excellency Mr. Roberto Ignacio Gonzales Planas Minister of Computer Science and Communications

16. Alcatel

    Mr. Serge Tchuruk

    Chairman and CEO

    17. Corporation for National Research Initiatives

Dr. Robert Kahn

    President and CEO

    18. United Nations University (UNU) Professor Hans van Ginkel


19. Conference of NGOs in Consultative Relationship with the United Nations (CONGO)

    Ms. Renate Bloem


20. KDDI Corporation

    Mr. Tadashi Onodera

    President and Chairman


Second Plenary Meeting, General Debate, 15:00h-18:00h GMT+1

1. Nepal

    His Majesty Bir Bikram Shah Gyanendra King

2. Mali

    His Excellency Mr. Ousmane Issoufi Mauga Prime Minister and Head of Government

3. Bosnia and Herzegovina

    Mr. Ivo Miro Jovic

    Chairperson of the Presidency

4. Lesotho

    The Right Honourable Pakalitha Bethuel Mosisili Prime Minister

5. Nigeria

    His Excellency Chief Olusegun Obasanjo President

6. Congo

    His Excellency Mr. Denis Sassou-Nguesso President

7. Gabon

    His Excellency Mr. Jean Francois Ntoutoume Emane

    Prmie Minister

8. Central African Rep.

    His Excellency Mr. Francois Bozize Yangouvonda President

9. Latvia

    Her Excellency Mrs. Vaira Vike-Freiberga President

10. Lebanon

    His Excellecy General Emile Lahoud Presidnet

11. Senegal

    His Excellency Mr. Abdoulaye Wade President

12. Tonga

    His Royal Highness Lavaka ata Ulukalala Prime Minister

13. Zambia

    His Honour Lupando Mwape

    Vice President

14. Botswana

    His Honour Seretse Khama Ian Khama

    Vice President Lt. Gen.

15. Serbia and Montenegro

    His Excellency Mr. Zoran Sami

    President of the Assembly

16. Palestine

    His Excellency Mr. Mahmoud Abbas


17. Israel

    His Excellency Mr. Silvan Shalom

    Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs

18. United Kingdom

    The Right Honourable Alun Michael

    Minister of State for Industry and Regions

19. India

    His Excellency Dayanidhi Maran

    Minister for Communications and Information Technology

20. International Association for Media and Communication Research (IAMCR)

    Professor Divina Frau-Meigs


    On behalf of Civil Society Education, Academia and Research Taskforce

    21. World Meteorological Organization (WMO) Mr. Michel Jaraud


22. Vivendi Universal

    Mr. Jean-Bernard Levy

    Chairman of the Management Board and CEO

23. ECPAT International

    Mr. Mark Capaldi

    Deputy Director

    On behalf of Civil Society Children's Rights Caucus


Third Plenary Meeting, General Debate, 18:00h-20:00h GMT+1

1. Spain

    His Excellency Mr. José Montilla Aguilera Minister of Indurstry, Trade and Tourism

2. Ukraine

    His Excellency Mr. Viktor Bondar

    Minister of Transport and Communications

3. Hungary

    His Excellency Mr. Kálmán Kovács

    Minister Informatics and Communications

4. Brazil

    His Excellency Mr. Gilberto Gil

    Minister of Culture

5. Finland

    Her Excellency Ms. Mari Kiviniemi Minister for Foreign Trade and Development

6. Italy

    His Excellency Mr. Lucio Stanca

    Minister of Innovation and Technologies

7. Greece

    His Excellency Mr. Michael Liapis Minister of Transport and Communications

8. Mexico

    His Excellency Mr. Jorge Alvarez Hoth Under Minister

9. Germany

    Dr. Bernd Pfaffenbach

    State Secretary of Economy

10. Ireland

    Mr. Brendan Tuohy

    Secretary General

11. Monaco

    His Excellency Mr. Philippe Blanchi Ambassador and Permanent representative

12. European Community

    Ms. Viviane Reding


13. Andorra

    Ambassador Francesc Bonet Casas Ambassador and Pemanent Representative

14. Huawei

    Mr. Tao Deng

    Vice President

15. International Development Research Centre (IDRC)

    Dr. Florence E. Etta-Akinaina

    Co-ordinator ICT Policy Project Kenya On behalf of The Telecentre Caucus

16. The World Bank

    Ms. Katherine Sierra

    Vice President

17. Microsoft International

Mr. Jean-Philippe Courtois


18. University of Toronto

    Mr. Derrick De Kerckhove

    Director, McLuhan Program, Faculty of Information Studies

19. ZTE Corporation

    Mr. Lirong Shi

    Senior Vice President


    Mr. Luis Di Benedetto



    Thursday, 17 November 2005

Fourth Plenary Meeting, General Debate, 09:00h-13:00h GMT+1

1. Morocco

    His Excellency Mr. Driss Jettou Prime Minister

2. China

    His Excellency Mr. Ju Huang Deputy Prime Minister

3. Kuwait

    His Excellency Mr. Ahmad Al-Abdullah Al-Ahmad Al-Ssabah Minister of Communications

4. Bulgaria

    Mr. Plamen Vatchkov

    Chairman of the State agency for Information Technology and Communications

5. Lithuania

    His Excellency Mr. Antanas Zenonas Kaminskas Chancellor of the Government

6. Mauritius

    His Excellency Etienne Sinatambou

    Minister of Information Technology and Telecommunications

7. Philippines

    His Excellency Mr. Virgilion L. Perna

    Chairman of the Philippine Commission on Information and Communication Technology

8. Singapore

    His Excellency Dr. Boon Yang Lee

    Minister for Information, Communication and the Arts Information, Communications and the Arts

9. United Arab Emirates

    His Excellency Mr. Sultan Al Mmansouri

    Minister of Communications

10. Estonia

    His Excellency Mr. Edgar Savisaar

    Minister of Economic Affairs and Communications

11. Jordan

    Her Excellency Ms. Nadia Al-Saeed

Report this document

For any questions or suggestions please email