YWCA of Indianapolis accepting nominations to recognize

By Terry Coleman,2014-06-09 21:34
12 views 0
YWCA of Indianapolis accepting nominations to recognize

For Immediate Release: Contact:

    March 7, 2011 Kym Kelley, YWCA of Indianapolis


     (317) 250-8593

    YWCA of Indianapolis accepting nominations to recognize

    outstanding women, now through April 21 th29 Annual Salute to Women of Achievement will be held June 16 at Indiana Roof Ballroom


    INDIANAPOLIS The YWCA of Indianapolis is now accepting nominations in three categories to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of women and teens in greater Indianapolis within their careers, schools and community.

    ; Phyllis Wheatley Award for Racial Justice Named after the first published African-

    American poet, whose writings reflect her support of American independence, this

    award is presented each year to a woman who has worked toward eliminating racism

    within the Indiana community. Last year’s Phyllis Wheatley Award winner was Amy

    Minick Peterson for her work in founding the Immigrant Welcome Center.

; Young Women of Promise This award is given to a young woman who makes

    contributions to the Indianapolis community through volunteer work, service

    leadership, mentoring or as a role model for young adults. The Young Women of

    Promise award recipient also is eligible for the YWCA Scholarship Program. Last

    year’s Young Woman of Promise was Codi Perry for A Girl’s Gift, Inc.

; Professional Woman Awards These awards are given to women that have made

    significant achievements within their careers, and who serve as role models for

    women of all ages. In 2010, Professional Woman Awards were presented to:

    o Business - Deborah Oatts - Co-Founder Nubian Transport Management

    o Education - Susan Brooks - Senior Vice President, Workforce and Economic

    Development, Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana

    o Health and Life Sciences - Dr. Virginia Caine Director, Marion County

    Health Department

    o Law - Martha "Marti" Starkey, Esq. Partner, Harrison & Moberly, LLP

    o Public/Community Service - Rev. Dr. Marion Miller Associate Pastor, St.

    Luke's United Methodist Church

    o Sports/Sports Management - Thresia Wynns - Assistant Commissioner,

    Indiana High School Athletic Association

    To nominate an exceptional woman or teen for the Salute to Women of Achievement Awards, visit or call (317) 250.8593. The deadline for nominations is April 21. Finalists and winners will be honored at the 29th Annual Salute to Women of Achievement on June 16, 2011, at 6 p.m. at the Indiana Roof Ballroom.

    The Salute to Women of Achievement event will feature a silent auction, dinner, awards presentation and inspirational stories from YWCA participants and Salute awardees. The Honorary Chair for the event is pioneering African American news journalist, Barbara Boyd.

    YWCA of Indianapolis President Alfreeda Goff proudly states, “We are excited to

    promote this wonderful event which not only recognizes and honors our nominees and award winners, but also helps promote the YWCA mission of making a difference in the lives of women, girls and their families by developing leadership, mentorship and racial justice programs that promote economic independence, community and justice for all.”

    For general questions, or to purchase corporate table or event tickets, contact Proceeds for the event benefit YWCA of Indianapolis

    empowerment and racial justice programs.


    For more information on how to participate, volunteer or contribute to the YWCA,

    please visit our website at or contact the YWCA at (317)250-8593.

Report this document

For any questions or suggestions please email