DOC

Commodities in Evolution

By Roberto Matthews,2014-06-26 22:52
7 views 0
Commodities in Evolution ...

    Commodities in Evolution:

    historical change in different ages of globalisation, 1800-2000

    2nd Annual International Workshop of the Commodities of Empire Project

    Council Room, British Academy, 11-12 September 2008

    10 Carlton House Terrace, London SW1Y 5AH

    Tel: 020 7969 5200

Thursday, 11th September

    1000 Arrival and coffee

    1015 Welcome

    1030 Session 1: A World of Commodity Difference

     (Discussant Roberto Davini)

    o Karl Gerth, „Making and unmaking commodity chains in 20th century China‟

    o Camilo Quintero, „Fancy hats, exotic birds and happy naturalists: a different kind of

    commodity in Latin America‟s international relations‟ 1145 Break

    1200 Session 2: Ages and Spaces of Globalisation

     (Discussant David Hyde)

    o Ian Phimster, „Commodities in demand: base minerals and the City of London before

    World War II‟

    o Patrick Neveling, „A periodisation of globalisation according to the Mauritian

    integration into the international sugar commodity chain (1825-2005)‟

    o Jan-Frederik Abbeloos, „Globalisation as metaphor: the spatial changes of the world

    copper business (1870-2000)‟

    1330 Lunch

    1430 Session 3: Consumption and Representation

     (Discussant Kaori O’Connor)

    o Karin Pallaver, „“The fastidious taste of African women”: Venetian glass beads in 19th

    century East Africa‟

    o Jennifer P. Nesbitt, „Rum histories: Commodity chains and literary figurations of rum

    and sugar in 18th and 20th century literature‟

    o Alasdair Brooks, „Speaking in Spanish, Eating in English‟ (co-authored by Ana Cristina

    Rodríguez Yilo)

    1600 Break

    1615 Session 4: Encyclopaedia of Global Commodities

    1730 Finish

    1830 Reception

Friday, 12th September

    1000 Arrival and coffee

    1030 Session 5: Commodities in Conflict

     (Discussant Jonathan Curry-Machado)

    o Juan José Baldrich, „From handcrafted tobacco rolls to machine-made cigarettes: The

    transformation and Americanization of Puerto Rican tobacco, 1847-1903‟

    o Jorge Ibarra, „British Indian rice in the Cuban market. Conflicts with US monopolies‟

    1145 Break

    1200 Session 6: Modes of Knowledge

     (Discussant Sandip Hazareesingh)

    o Emma Reisz, „The culture of economic imperialism: rubber in the British Empire, 1800-

    1940‟

    o Paul Ashmore, „Understanding globalisation: the Dominions Royal Commission as

    imperial archive‟

    o Swarnalatha Potokuchi, „Controlling commodity culture: indigenous knowledge and

    Indian cotton textile industry: Andhra region, 1790-1900‟ 1330 Lunch

    1430 Session 7: Labour and Development

     (Discussant Jean Stubbs)

    o Elizabeth Heath, „Citizenship, labor and assimilation in colonial Guadeloupe‟

    o Cyrus Veeser, „Forced labor as a strategy for commodity production in colonial Africa

    and Asia‟

    o Walter Cordero, „Cultivation of coffee in the Dominican Republic: factors and models

    for development‟

    1600 Break

    1615 Session 8: Developing the Commodities of Empire Project

    (Collaboration and the international research network)

    1730 Finish

Participants

    Jan-Frederik Abbeloos (University of Ghent, Belgium), janfrederik.abbeloos@ugent.be Paul Ashmore (University of Sheffield, UK), paul.ashmore@sheffield.ac.uk Juan José Baldrich (University of Puerto Rico), juan.baldrich.grd.soci@aya.yale.edu Alasdair Brooks (Oxford Archaeology, UK), alasdair.brooks@oxfordarch.co.uk Walter Cordero (Autonomous University of Santo Domingo, Domincian Republic),

    tocoroi@hotmail.com

    Jonathan Curry-Machado (London Metropolitan University, UK), j.currymachado@londonmet.ac.uk

    Robert Davini (European University Institute, Italy), Roberto.Davini@EUI.eu Karl Gerth (Merton College, Oxford, UK), karl.gerth@history.ox.ac.uk Sandip Hazareesingh (Open University, UK), S.K.Hazareesingh@open.ac.uk Elizabeth Heath (University of Chicago, US), eaheath@uchicago.edu David Hyde (University of East London, UK), D.Hyde@uel.ac.uk Jorge Ibarra (Institute of History, Havana, Cuba), jrenato@cubarte.cult.cu Patrick Neveling (Martin Luther University, Halle-Wittenberg, Germany),

    patrick.neveling@ethnologie.uni-halle.de

    Jennifer P. Nesbitt (Penn State University, US), jpn12@psu.edu

    Kaori O‟Connor (University College London, UK), books@keganpaul.com Karin Pallaver (University of Bologna, Italy), k.pallaver@la-tortuga.net Ian Phimster (University of Sheffield, UK), ian.phimster@btinternet.com Swarnalatha Potukuchi (Dhirubhai Ambani International School, Mumbai, India),

    pslatha@rediffmail.com

    Camilo Quintero (University of the Andes, Colombia), cquinter@uniandes.edu.co Emma Reisz (Queens University Belfast, UK), emma.reisz@qub.ac.uk Heather Scott (Open University), h.scott@open.ac.uk

    Jean Stubbs (London Metropolitan University), j.stubbs@londonmet.ac.uk Cyrus Veeser (Bentley College, US), cveeser@bentley.edu

How to get to the British Academy:

    We would like to thank the British Academy for supporting ‘Commodities of Empire’ as an Academy Research Project and hosting the International Workshop, and also the British Academy,

    the Open University and London Metropolitan University for their financial support.

Report this document

For any questions or suggestions please email
cust-service@docsford.com