DOC

Wearable Art & Sewing Resources

By Dawn Thompson,2014-08-17 06:31
7 views 0
Wearable Art & Sewing Resources

Wearable Art & Sewing

    Resources

? 2007-2009 by Lu Peters

Magazines

    Threads Magazine www.threadsmagazine.com See their on-line index for past articles:

    click on “Online Magazine Index” at top Fiberarts Magazine www.fiberartsmagazine.com Sophisticated wearable art/fiber; index Quilting Arts Magazine www.quiltingarts.com Great techniques, supplies Cloth, Paper, Scissors www.quiltingarts.com Multi-media

    Belle Armoire Magazine www.bellearmoire.com Wearable art

    Ornament Magazine www.ornament.com Wearable art in the marketplace Surface Design Association www.surfacedesign.org Organization of multi media Fiberarts Selvedge Magazine www.selvedge.org English textile arts

    Sew Stylish www.besewstylish.com sewing from the Editors of Threads Sew News www.sewnews.com Basic sewing

    Sew Simple www.sewnes.com Basic Sewing

    Sewing Today Magazine http://www.mccallpattern.com/list/sewing_today_magazine/page-1,

    McCall’s Sewing Magazine

    Clotilde Sewing Savvy www.clotildesewingsavvy.com Very basic sewing

    Vogue Pattern Magazine www.voguepatterns.com Good articles on construction Adorn www.adornmag.com Craft and sewing

    Craft www.craftzine.com Crafts, beading, sewing, needlework Interweave Press www.interweave.com Knits Magazine, Crochet, Knitscene,

    Handwoven, Spin-off, Knit Gifts, and

    Fiberarts Magazines and books Burda World of Fashion www.burdamode.com Burda Patterns in magazine format

    Through the Needle www.berninausa.com Bernina educational publication available

    at Bernina dealers

    Craft Stylish Magazine www.threadsmagazine.com home and wardrobe sewing Quilting Arts Stitch Magazine www.interweavestitch.com Contemporary sewing with a young viewpoint Ready Made www.readymade.com Sewing Tips for Every Level, DIY

Newsletters

    Marcy Tilton www.marcytilton.com

    Diane Ericson www.dianeericson.com

    Kayla Kennington www.kaylakennington.com

    Workshop on the Web www.workshopontheweb.com see site for fees

    Material Girl Quilt Fabrics www.materialgirlquilt.com art fabrics

    Pattern Review www.patternreview.com

Classes

On-line: www.powersewing.com Sandra Betzina’s new online classes

    www.mysewingclasses.com

    www.patternreview.com

    www.londas-sewing.com

    http://www.sewfastseweasy.com/online_learning Greg Garvin

?2007-2009 Lu Peters. All rights reserved. Last updated November 4, 2009, 2009. For the latest list, please visit www.lupeters.com.

    1

    Fabrics and Notions

    On-line:

     www.nancysnotions.com www.thesilkworks.com (fiberart www.clotilde.com supplies, fabrics, dyes, trims) www.denverfabrics.com (best selection www.buttonemporium.com

    of linings, interfacings, notions) www.stanssewingsupplies.com

     www.fashionfabrics.com www.zipperstop.com

     www.tinseltrading.com (trims) www.surefitdesigns.com (tracing www.contemporarycloth.com (retro & vellum)

    contemporary fabrics and ribbons) www.thesewingplace.com

     www.thesewingplace.com www.fabricmartfabrics.com

     www.yarnmarket.com (exotic yarns) www.londas-sewing.com (classes, www.habutextiles.com (Japanese supplies, patterns, duct tape dress

    yarns, threads, fibers, knit patterns) form, instruction videos, fabrics) www.mynotions.com www.dritz.com/brands/dritz/dressform www.bohemianelement.com (ethnic _index.php

    textiles, beads, buttons) www.mytwindressforms.com (dress www.silkthings.com (threads, paints, forms available at Hancock’s, Joann’s)

    ribbons, Colorhue silk dyes) www.fabulousfit.com (dress forms) www.prairiefibers.com (Kimberly www.dressformdesigning.com

    Packwood, fibers, dyes, inks) www.sawyerbrook.com

     www.twthreads.com (Trish Stuart, www.delectablemountain.com (fabrics)

    Japanese inks, foils, embellishments) www.leandrofabrics.com (fine fabrics) www.artisticartifacts.com (fibers, www.moodfabrics.com (Project

    beads, found art supplies) Runway supplier)

     www.photoezsilkscreen.com (Ginny www.orientalsilk.com

    Eckley paints, silkscreen supplies) www.texturatrading.com (yarns) www.joggles.com (fiberart supplies) www.testfabrics.com (RTD fabric, www.accentbead.com (Kumihimo blanks for dyeing)

    braiding, beads, fibers) www.thaisilks.com

     www.cheeptrims.com (trims) www.sttheresatextile.com (exotic www.mjtrim.com (trims) fabrics, African, beads, trims) www.jkribbon.com (ribbons/trims) www.bamboofabricstore.com (bamboo www.trimfabric.com fabric info and resources)

     www.fashionfabricsclub.com fabrics

    www.allfiberarts.com comprehensive site

    www.finesewing.com Kathryn Brenne, Bridal sewing

    www.joannamarias.com Joanna Lyon, Bridal veil patterns and supplies

    www.supersilk.com silks and silk glossary

    www.materialgirlquilt.com art fabrics and newsletter

     www.stonemountainfabric.com Berkeley Fabric store

     www.shiborigirl.wordpress.com Shibori scarves and wraps

     www.waechters.com excellent quality fashion fabrics, int’l swatch

    service/shipping. Asheville, NC

     www.fabriquefabrics.com couture quality fashion fabrics, swatch service/shipping,

    Dallas, TX; interactive, online sewing forum

     www.kaiscissors.com scissor resource

     www.activekatyoga.com sewing yoga to relieve strain caused by sewing

     www.sewevents.com Sew Pro sewing seminars

     www.emmaonesock.com fine fabrics

     www.artisanssquare.com tips and news from Louise Cutting fabric collections

    www.banasch.com sewing supplies Banasch’s Inc.

    www.namemaker.com clothing labels

    www.jamylabels.com clothing labels

    www.lucysfabrics.com Fabric store in Dallas area

    ?2007-2009 Lu Peters. All rights reserved. Last updated November 4, 2009, 2009. For the latest list, please visit www.lupeters.com.

    2

    www.materialgirls.com art fabrics

Brands of Thread

    ; Art Fabrik Threads www.artfabrik.com

    ; Aurifil www.aurifil.com;

    ; Clover http://www.shopatron.com/index/181.0 ; Coats and Clark http://www.coatsandclark.com/ ; Conso http://www.redrockthreads.com/conso-thread/ ; Floriani http://floriani.florianiembroiderycentral.com ; Gutermann http://www.gutermann.com

    ; Isacord http://www.embroideryonline.com ; Kreinick http://www.kreinik.com

    ; Londonderry Linen www.threadneedlestreet.com

    ; Madeira http://www.madeirausa.com/ ; Marathon http://www.marathonusa.com/ ; Masterpiece Egyptian Cotton http://www.sewingmachinesplus.com ; Mettler http://www.amefird.com/mettler.htm ; Oliver Twist Hand Dyes http://www.meinketoy.com

    ; Presencia http://www.presenciausa.com/ ; Renaissance www.sewartinternational.com/renaissance-burmilana-thread/

    ; Robison-Anton http://www.robison-anton.com/ ; Sew Art International http://www.sewartinternational.com ; Signature http://www.redrockthreads.com/signature-thread/ ; Spectrum Rayon http://www.spectrumthread.com ; Sulky www.sulky.com

    ; Superior http://www.superiorthreads.com/ ; Tire Silk http://www.silkthings.com

    ; Valdani http://www.valdani.com/

    ; Victory http://www.meinketoy.com

    ; Weeks Dye Works http://www.weeksdyeworks.com/ ; Wonderfil http://www.wonderfil.net

    ; YLI http://www.ylicorp.com/

; Specialty

    ; DMC http://www.dmc-usa.com/

    ; Chizimi Shrinking thread http://www.threadandmore.com ; Fire Retardant threads http://www.thethreadexchange.com ; Grilon Shrinking thread http://www.meinketoy.com

    ; Nautical and Outdoor http://www.beaconfabric.com/vindex.html?cat7.htm ; Sashiko http://www.shiboridragon.com/Sashiko-Thread.htm

Additional Thread Resources:

    www.thatthreadshop.com Aurifil thread distributor www.threadart.com variety of threads

    www.threadandmore.com nice selection of well-priced threads sold at quilt shows

     www.thethreadstudio.com variety of threads

    www.redrockthreads.com excellent variety of major brands of threads

     www.thethreadmarket.com variety of threads

    Solar Protection Fabrics:

    www.justmakeit.com www.rockywoods.com

    www.solarveil.com www.solarweave.com (FDA approval) www.therainshed.com www.ritdye.com Rit Sun Guard fabric wash ?2007-2009 Lu Peters. All rights reserved. Last updated November 4, 2009, 2009. For the latest list, please visit www.lupeters.com.

    3

Catalog:

     www.sewtrue.com (has the crotch tape measure for pants fitting)

     Atlanta Thread & Supply Co. 800-847-1001

     Oregon Tailor Supply Co. 800-678-2457

     www.patternworks.com reasonably priced yarns

     www.lionbrand.com yarns and patterns, knit/crochet

     www.beaconfabric.com variety of supplies

     www.dharmatrading.com supplies and glossary of textile terms

     www.apparelsearch.com textile info and glossary of textile terms

    www.uri.edu University of RI, pattern dating, storage, and vintage collections

     www.ditzyprints.com/dpburnchart.html fiber burn chart

     www.homesew.com supplies

Supplies:

     Pattern tracing paper: True Grid ; Doctor’s Exam Table Paper (clotilde.com, 77yds/$6.95); Do

    Sew Tracing Material (nancysnotions.com, 5yds/$5.98); Swedish Tracing Paper (10yds/$9.95,

    clotilde.com)

     Silk threads: Tire Brand Kinkame (size 50, 100 meters); YLI Silk (size 100, 200 meters)

    Invisible Thread: Madeira Monofil Clear and Smoke polyamide (size 60, 200 meters at

    nancysnotions.com) Wonderful for invisibly attaching appliqué and trim.

    Invisifil Threads: polyester threads in soft disappearing colors by Wonderfil Threads, available

    at www.softexpressions.com

Pattern Drafting

    Software reviewed by Threads magazine, April/May 2003:

     www.wildginger.com Pattern Master Boutique, Click & Sew

     www.cadterns.com Cadterns Lite

     www.livingsoft.com Dress Shop

     www.knitcraft.com Fittingly Sew

     www.cochenille.com Garment Designer

     www.patternmaker.com Pattern Maker Home Studio

     www.personalpatterns.com Personal Patterns

Other systems:

     www.lutterlohsystem.com Lutterloh system

     www.patterners.com Bonfit Patterns

     www.berninamylabel.com new 3-D Patternmaking software from Bernina

     www.threadsmagazine.com/fittingseries Threads Fitting DVD Series: torso, arms, bust, waist & hips &

     Threads Industry Insider Techniques DVD (Louise Cutting instructor)

Inspiration & Information

    Lu Peters www.lupeters.com Fiberart & Wearable Art/Sewing Booklists;

    Resources, and Links Aida Dalati www.aidadalati.com

    Sara Moe www.sewinspired.com Fabric and Quilt designer Asiatica www.asiaticakc.com art clothing; some Nuno fabrics Kerr Grabowski www.kerrgrabowski.com hand-dyed garments

    Anna Voog www.anacam.com/hats/ hats

    Yvonne Porcella www.yvonneporcella.com quilted and dyed clothing and quilts Yaga www.yaga.ru/eworksobj.html?24

    Santa Fe Weaving Gallery www.fiberbydesign.com wearable art

    Chunghie Lee www.chunghielee.com pojagi style garments

    Thirteen Moons Gallery www.thirteenmoonsgallery.com Wearable art in Santa Fe Artesmia Gallery www.artemisiataos.com/ Wearable art in Taos

    ?2007-2009 Lu Peters. All rights reserved. Last updated November 4, 2009, 2009. For the latest list, please visit www.lupeters.com.

    4

Kenneth King www.kennethdking.com designer

    Laurie Schafer www.laurieschafer.com Wearable art gallery in New York Doshi www.doshifiberart.com Shibori garments

    La Jolla Fiberarts Gallery www.lajollafiberarts.com Wearable art gallery Carter and Son Noah/Shibori www.shibori.com

    Dream Weaver Collection www.dreamweavercollection.com

    Jane Dunnewold www.artclothstudios.com dyed and painted fabrics, newsletter Kaliyana Clothing www.kaliyana.com Canadian artwear

    Animale Clothing www.animale.com Deconstruction style

    Latifa www.latifadesign.com Felted clothing

    Rachel Kincy Clark www.rdkc.com Quilted clothing

    Kayla Kennington www.kaylakennington.com Wearable art and patterns Valerie Guignon www.guignon.com garments and fiber art Bellagio Artwear www.bellagioarttowear.com Wearable art gallery in Asheville, NC Bellagio Everyday www.bellagioeveryday.com Wearable art gallery in Asheville, NC Shuka Naruo www.capawearableart.com Kimono collage clothing Texas Fashion Collection www.tfc.unt.edu Dallas collection of garments/accessories Akihito Izukura www.akihikoizukura.com/en/collection/col_aki.html Japanese designer Texas Museum of Fiber Arts www.texasfiberarts.org Texas Museum without walls Translations Gallery www.translationsgallery.com Wearable art gallery Starr Hagenbring google her name to see her wonderful wearable art! Winner of the

    Bernina Fashion Show 2007

    Artemisia Gallery www.artemisiataos.com Wearable art gallery in Taos, NM Sewing Workshop www.projectsewingworkshop.com garments and inspirations Maleanie O’Brien www.the-fabric-shopper.blogspot.com sewing/fabrics/shopping Ocelot Clothing www.ocelotclothing.com wearable art hand dyes

Pattern Resource List

Adams, Shirley www.sewingconnection.com

    Amaden-Crawford, Connie www.fashionpatterns.com Plus-sized patterns and fitting blocks Betzina, Sandra www.sandrabetzina.com www.voguepatterns.com Bloebaum, Fred www.lafred.com La Fred patterns

    Brensan Studios www.brensan.com Variety of patterns

    Brunner, Deborah www.deborahbrunner.com Rag Stock patterns

    Butler, Amy www.amybutlerdesign.com

    Carson, Gale www.bystitchintime.com Lois Ericson Patterns supplier Christopher, Donna www.londas-sewing.com

    Clark, Rachel Kincy www.rdkc.com art wear patterns

    CNT Patterns www.cntpattern.com

    Colburn, June www.junecolburn.com Asian styles

    Cutting, Louise www.cuttinglinedesigns.com Patterns, sewing tips Decades of Style www.decadesofstyle.com Vintage styles

    D’Leas’ Patterns www.londas-sewing.com

    Dos de Tejas www.dosdetejas.com Western clothing

    Dunn, Patty www.alldunndesigns.com patterns and instructional DVDs Eichorn, Rosemary www.sewjourn.com

    Encore Designs www.encoredesigns.com Patterns and unique buttons, closures Ericson, Diane www.revisions-ericson.com Patterns, stencils Ericson, Lois www.designandsew.com artwear: scarves and Handbags for

    purchase

    Folkwear www.folkwear.com Ethnic patterns

    Ghee, Linda www.ghees.com Garments, handbags

    Habu Textiles www.habutextiles.com Garments, fibers, yarns, knitting patterns Hinse, Lois www.londas-sewing.com Patterns

    Hot Patterns www.hotpatterns.com Fitted wearable patterns Jonson, Christine www.cjpatterns.com Patterns, fabrics

    Islander Sewing System www.islandersewing.com techniques

    ?2007-2009 Lu Peters. All rights reserved. Last updated November 4, 2009, 2009. For the latest list, please visit www.lupeters.com.

    5

    Kennington, Kayla www.kaylakennington.com contemporary garments Kimura, Stephanie www.kimurapatterns.com Patterns

    Kubik, Linda www.thesewingplace.com Weaver; coat and jacket patterns Messinger, Lyla www.thesewingplace.com LJ Designs

    Mary Lou Rankin www.parkbenchpatterns.com Patterns

    My ePatternsite www.seeitsewit.com

    Pattern Retrospective www.evadress.com Vintage patterns

    Pattern Studio www.patternstudio.com Hats and gloves

    Pavelka Designs www.pavelkadesigns.com

    Purrfection Artistic Wearables www.purrfection.com

    Rag Merchant www.rag-merchant.com

    Ross, Betsy www.reprodepot.com

    Saber Designs www.saberdesigns.cc (Not .com) Japanese style garments Saf-T-Pockets www.saf-t-pockets.com

    Sager, Peggy www.silhouettepatterns.com A, B, C, cup sized patterns Seabrooke, Emma www.emmaseabrooke.com patterns for the hard to fit Sew Grand www.sewgrand.com Plus-sized patterns

    See It, Sew It www.seeitsewit.com Patterns

    SewingPatterns.com www.sewingpatterns.com huge collection of patterns Sewing Workshop www.sewingworkshop.com Contemporary art wear patterns Shapes Patterns www.sewingworkshop.com or www.cuttinglinedesigns.com new

    contemporary patterns by Linda Lee &

    Louise Cutting

    Steele, Andrea www.akashaclothing.com Also order at www.thesewingplace.com Stern, Jennifer www.jsterndesigns.com Order at: www.manchestersewing.com Textile Studio www.textilestudiofabrics.com

    Tilton, Marcy www.marcytilton.com Order at: www.voguepatterns.com Torrance, Lorraine www.sewingpatterns.com Grainline Gear pattern line Van Horn, Larkin www.larkinart.com Patterns at: www.purrfection.com WWWearables http://wwwearabales.com

    Specialty Patterns:

    Bones, Jan www.sewinglingerie.com Lingerie patterns

    Jalie www.jalie.com Skating, sports, and outdoors (Canadian) Lanetzliving www.lanetzliving.net Vintage Retro patterns, Vogue, Butterick, etc. Lee, Elizabeth www.elizabethlee.com Breastfeeding and baby patterns Sensibility Patterns www.sensibility.com Regency Spencer Patterns So Vintage Patterns www.sovintagepatterns.com Aprons to Gowns vintage styles Suitability Patterns www.suitability.com Equestrian patterns

    Budo Bear www.budobear.com Martial Arts patterns

    Old Patterns www.oldpatterns.com vintage, retro and costume patterns Past Patterns www.pastpatterns.com historical costume patterns International Pattern Companies:

    Abacadabra www.abacadabra.com Netherlands: children’s patterns

    Farbenmix www.studiotantrum.com Germany: men’s’, women’s’, children’s’ patterns Mamu Design www.mamu-shop.de Germany: women’s & children’s patterns Onion www.shoponion.com Denmark: women, children, accessories Ottobre Design www.ottobredesign.com Finland: men’s, women’s, children’s patterns Lingerie www.elingeria.de European lingerie patterns

Other Resources:

    www.debsrecycledsewingpatterns.com vintage patterns

    www.theblugardenia.com vintage patterns and costume jewelry www.lanetzliving.net vintage retro sewing patterns

    www.sovintagepatterns.com vintage patterns

    www.mainstreetpatterns.com vintage and modern patterns ththwww.figleafpatterns.com 18 & 19 Century patterns

?2007-2009 Lu Peters. All rights reserved. Last updated November 4, 2009, 2009. For the latest list, please visit www.lupeters.com.

    6

?2007-2009 Lu Peters. All rights reserved. Last updated November 4, 2009, 2009. For the latest list, please visit www.lupeters.com.

7

Report this document

For any questions or suggestions please email
cust-service@docsford.com