Pulitzer Prize for Drama

By Marie Murray,2014-10-15 12:59
16 views 0
Pulitzer Prize for Drama


    1918: Why Marry? Jesse Lynch Williams 1919: no award


    1920: Beyond the Horizon Eugene O'Neill

    1921: Miss Lulu Bett Zona Gale

    1922: Anna Christie Eugene O'Neill

    1923: Icebound Owen Davis

    1924: Hell-Bent Fer Heaven Hatcher Hughes 1925: They Knew What They Wanted Sidney Howard 1926: Craig's Wife George Kelly

    1927: In Abraham's Bosom Paul Green

    1928: Strange Interlude Eugene O'Neill

    1929: Street Scene Elmer Rice


    1930: The Green Pastures Marc Connelly 1931: Alison's House Susan Glaspell 1932: Of Thee I Sing George S. Kaufman, Morrie Ryskind, Ira Gershwin,

    1933: Both Your Houses Maxwell Anderson 1934: Men in White Sidney Kingsley 1935: The Old Maid Zoë Akins

    1936: Idiot's Delight Robert E. Sherwood

    1937: You Can't Take it with You Moss Hart, George S. Kaufman

    1938: Our Town Thornton Wilder

    1939: Abe Lincoln in Illinois Robert E. Sherwood


    1940: The Time of Your Life William Saroyan 1941: There Shall Be No Night Robert E. Sherwood

    1942: no award

    1943: The Skin of Our Teeth Thornton Wilder

    1944: no award

    1945: Harvey Mary Coyle Chase 1946: State of the Union Russel Crouse, Howard Lindsay

    1947: no award

    1948: A Streetcar Named Desire Tennessee Williams

    1949: Death of a Salesman * Arthur Miller


    1950: South Pacific * Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II, Joshua Logan

    1951: no award

    1952: The Shrike Joseph Kramm

    1953: Picnic William Inge

    1954: The Teahouse of the August Moon * John Patrick

1955: Cat on a Hot Tin Roof Tennessee Williams

    1956: The Diary of Anne Frank * Albert Hackett and Frances Goodrich

    1957: Long Day's Journey into Night * Eugene O'Neill

    1958: Look Homeward, Angel Ketti Frings 1959: J.B. * Archibald MacLeish


    1960: Fiorello! * Jerome Weidman and George Abbott Jerry Bock, and Sheldon Harnick

    1961: All the Way Home Tad Mosel

    1962: How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying * Frank Loesser and Abe Burrows

    1963: no award

    1964: no award

    1965: The Subject Was Roses * Frank D. Gilroy 1966: no award

    1967: A Delicate Balance Edward Albee

    1968: no award

    1969: The Great White Hope * Howard Sackler


    1970: No Place to be Somebody Charles Gordone 1971: The Effect of Gamma Rays on Man-in-the-Moon Marigolds Paul Zindel 1972: no award

    1973: That Championship Season * Jason Miller 1974: no award

    1975: Seascape Edward Albee

    1976: A Chorus Line * Michael Bennett, Nicholas Dante and James Kirkwood, Jr., Marvin Hamlisch and Edward


    1977: The Shadow Box * Michael Cristofer 1978: The Gin Game Donald L. Coburn 1979: Buried Child Sam Shepard


    1980: Talley's Folly Lanford Wilson

    1981: Crimes of the Heart Beth Henley

    1982: A Soldier's Play Charles Fuller

    1983: 'night, Mother Marsha Norman

    True West Sam Shepard

    1984: Glengarry Glen Ross David Mamet

    Fool for Love Sam Shepard

    Painting Churches Tina Howe

    1985: Sunday in the Park with George James Lapine and Stephen Sondheim

    The Dining Room A. R. Gurney

    The Gospel at Colonus Lee Breuer, Bob Telson 1986: no award

    1987: Fences * August Wilson

    Broadway Bound Neil Simon

    A Walk in the Woods Lee Blessing 1988: Driving Miss Daisy Alfred Uhry

    Boy's Life Howard Korder

    Talk Radio Eric Bogosian

    1989: The Heidi Chronicles * Wendy Wasserstein

    Joe Turner's Come and Gone August Wilson

    M. Butterfly David Henry Hwang


    1990: The Piano Lesson August Wilson

    And What of the Night? María Irene Fornés

    Love Letters A. R. Gurney

    1991: Lost in Yonkers * Neil Simon

    Prelude to a Kiss Craig Lucas

    Six Degrees of Separation John Guare 1992: The Kentucky Cycle Robert Schenkkan

    Conversations with My Father Herb Gardner

    Miss Evers' Boys David Feldshuh

    Two Trains Running August Wilson

    Sight Unseen Donald Margulies 1993: Angels in America: Millennium Approaches * Tony Kushner

    The Destiny of Me Larry Kramer

    Fires in the Mirror Anna Deavere Smith 1994: Three Tall Women Edward Albee

    Keely and Du Jane Martin

    A Perfect Ganesh Terrence McNally 1995: The Young Man From Atlanta Horton Foote

    The Cryptogram David Mamet

    Seven Guitars August Wilson

    1996: Rent * Jonathan Larson

    A Fair Country Jon Robin Baitz

    Old Wicked Songs Jon Marans

    1997: no award

    Collected Stories Donald Margulies

    The Last Night of Ballyhoo Alfred Uhry

    Pride's Crossing Tina Howe

    1998: How I Learned to Drive Paula Vogel

    Freedomland Amy Freed

    Three Days of Rain Richard Greenberg 1999: Wit Margaret Edson

    Running Man Cornelius Eady and Diedre Murray

    Side Man * Warren Leight


    2000: Dinner with Friends Donald Margulies

    In the Blood Suzan-Lori Parks

    King Hedley II August Wilson

    2001: Proof * David Auburn

    The Play About the Baby Edward Albee

    The Waverly Gallery Kenneth Lonergan 2002: Topdog/Underdog Suzan-Lori Parks

    The Glory of Living Rebecca Gilman

    Yellowman Dael Orlandersmith 2003: Anna in the Tropics Nilo Cruz

    The Goat or Who Is Sylvia? * Edward Albee

    Take Me Out * Richard Greenberg 2004: I Am My Own Wife * Doug Wright

    Man from Nebraska Tracy Letts

    Omnium Gatherum Theresa Rebeck and Alexandra Gersten-Vassilaros

    2005 Doubt: A Parable * John Patrick Shanley

    The Clean House Sarah Ruhl

    Thom Pain (based on nothing) Will Eno 2006: no award

    Miss Witherspoon Christopher Durang

    The Intelligent Design of Jenny Chow Rolin Jones

    Red Light Winter Adam Rapp

    2007: Rabbit Hole David Lindsay-Abaire

    Bulrusher Eisa Davis

    Orpheus X Rinde Eckert

    Elliot, a Soldier's Fugue Quiara Alegría Hudes 2008 August: Osage County * Tracy Letts

    Dying City Christopher Shinn

    Yellow Face David Henry Hwang 2009 Ruined Lynn Nottage

    Becky Shaw Gina Gionfriddo

    In the Heights * Lin-Manuel Miranda and Quiara Alegría Hudes


    2010: Next to Normal Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey

    Bengal Tiger at the Baghdad Zoo Rajiv Joseph

    The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity Kristoffer Diaz

    In the Next Room (or The Vibrator Play) Sarah Ruhl 2011: Clybourne Park Bruce Norris

    Detroit Lisa D'Amour

    A Free Man of Color John Guare

Report this document

For any questions or suggestions please email