Global Project Management Body of Knowledge

By Valerie Hunter,2014-05-19 09:35
8 views 0
Performance based competency standards for project management have been developed in the United Kingdom (OSCEng 1997;CISC 1997;MCI 1997)and Australia (AIPM

    Global Working Group: Standards

    Minutes of Meeting

    24 January 2000


    Hillerod, Denmark


    Lynn Crawford, Australia (LC) Jaap van der Deijl, The Netherlands (JD) Morton Fangel, Denmark (MF),

    Håkan Sjoholm, Sweden (HS) Takashi Nagata, Japan (TN) Christophe Bredillet, France (CB)

1. Issues raised at GMPF8

    A number of questions raised at GMPF8 (Philadelphia, October 1999) were dealt with as follows:

Question: Who owns globally developed standards?

    Answer: If ISO, then ISO; otherwise, in the public domain. This raises the need for an entity to

    „own‟ the standards for purposes of regulation and review.

Question: Who can use globally developed standards, as a right?

    Answer: Everyone in the public domain. However there is a need for guidelines for use of

    standards and regulation of their form and review by an owning entity on behalf of all stakeholders.

Question: One coordinated effort needs to maximise resource usage for beneficial outcome for all,

    so how to include all stakeholders?

    Answer: The meeting undertook a stakeholder analysis session. The results are presented as Appendix 4 to these Minutes.

Question: How to distribute data?

    Answer: The pm-standards email list has been established and will be used for this purpose.

The following questions were deferred for attention at a future meeting:

    ? How to maintain currency of data and reviews?

    ? How to get World Bank and UN support?

2. Global PM Competency Standards


    Performance based competency standards for project management have been developed in the United

    Kingdom (OSCEng 1997;CISC 1997;MCI 1997)and Australia (AIPM (Sponsor) 1996) and are

    currently being developed in South Africa (South African Qualifications Authority). There is interest

    Minutes of Meeting 24.1.2000 GWG: Standards Page 1/14

in development of European Vocational Qualifications (EVQ‟s) for project management. A valuable

    aspect of such standards is that they are specifically designed for assessment purposes. The South

    African Standards are currently in development and the Australian Standards are due for review.

    This represents an opportunity for global review of these standards, with reference to the UK

    standards (NVQ‟s) and the ICB (IPMA 1999) and with involvement of a globally representative reference group, with a view to development of Global PM Competency Standards.

Christophe Bredillet reported that in France there is a project to develop a National Competency

    Baseline and that in this context they are looking at the ICB(IPMA 1999) in relation to the

    Australian National Competency Standards for Project Management (AIPM (Sponsor) 1996).

    Christophe will provide a copy of the first draft, due towards the end of June 2000 (CB). They are

    looking at levels and complexity and have defined complexity as control of more than 7 independent

    variables / parameters.

The Leonardo Project (ref. JD) also has need for European standards (EVQ).

Performance based competency standards such as the UK NVQ‟s (National Vocational Qualifications)

    and Australian National Competency Standards are developed in the form of:

     ? Units of Competence. Units of Competence describe in broad terms what is expected of

    project management personnel in particular aspects of the job. A Unit is able to stand alone as

    a complete function in the area of employment.

    ? Elements of Competence. Each Unit consists of a number of Elements which reflect the

    competencies that project management personnel are expected to possess at a particular level.

    ? Performance Criteria. Each Element is described by Performance Criteria which specify the

    outcomes to be achieved in order to demonstrate competent performance. Performance Criteria

    form the basis on which evidence of competence is assessed.

    ? Range Indicators. Range Indicators describe the instances and situations in which the

    Elements of Competence are applied.

    ? Underpinning Knowledge and Understanding. As well as covering performance aspects, the

    Standards also cover the Underpinning Knowledge and Understanding that is required to

    underlie performance.

    ? Evidence Guides. Evidence Guides give an indication of the type and degree of evidence

    acceptable, by the industry/enterprise, to satisfactorily demonstrate competence in the Unit

    being assessed. Evidence requirements may include demonstration of underpinning knowledge

    and understanding.

Such standards are aligned to national qualification levels. In Australia there are 8 levels (refer to

    Appendix 1 for a description of these levels) and the Australian National Competency Standards for

    Project Management are written at levels 4, 5 and 6.

    Assessment is based on provision of evidence of competence against performance criteria at a

    selected level which is assessed by a registered Workplace Assessor.

The following diagram was developed to identify the key documents that are available to contribute

    to development of Global PM Competency Standards. Performance based competency standards

    essentially describe PRACTICE, and require an appropriate KNOWLEDGE base.

Minutes of Meeting 24.1.2000 GWG: Standards Page 2/14